Wishing Well

Published March 8, 2016 by dapithapon

I throw a pebble to an old wishing well
and whisper my heart’s desire.
I can hear soft echoes as it falls deep down into the hallowed walls
and wait until it touches the ground.
But like chasing a dream that remains unspoken,
It was dead silent.
The sound I heard must have been figments of my imagination.

I ran away feeling empty inside,
wiped my tears to clear my blurry vision.
Then, I stopped upon reaching the lonesome tree
and stared at it for as long as I could.
I feel like a fallen fruit and you are the withered leaves
that I want to crush into pieces.

I found a sharp-edged stone
and cut deeply on my palm.
It starts bleeding and so is my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

