Can You Blame Me?

Published November 14, 2011 by dapithapon

(This is an old poem which I’ve written when I was still inlove with my friend. I have no idea if he had read this when it was previously posted on my defunct blog. Anyway, he had rejected me a long time ago and I guess I’m totally over him so, I’m now posting this because I know that I won’t be affected by this anymore. :-))

Can you blame me if I fell for you?
When you’re like a breath of fresh air in my polluted existence?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you shed a light during my darkest hours?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you made me laugh amidst my solitude?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you unburdened my jaded spirit

Though you didn’t know how torn it was?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?
When you brighten up my gloomy days

And calmed me down until the storm ends?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When I feel your presence in my every heartbeat?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you made me feel special for trusting me so much?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you had shared with me your secret world

Surrounded by wonderful people in your life?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When the world full of lies gave birth to Mr. Nice?

Can you blame me if I fell for you?

When you erased my cynicism

And demystified my stereotypes on all men?

Can you honestly blame me if I fell for you?

When you eased away my fears about love

And made it easier for me to move on after suffering from a broken heart?

You took away my emotional pain

You made me laugh

You made me cry

You taught me patience

You made me value simplicity

You offered me real friendship

You saved me from an embarrassing situation by helping me unselfishly

You influenced me to move out of my shell once more and explore the world

You practically altered my standards

But, I don’t regret any of it

You confused me
Whenever your actions contradict your words

Yet, I still fell for you

And only wants the best for you…

If someday you’ll find your happiness
And it’s not me who can give it to you

Don’t you worry about me

I’ll be fine

What’s important is that someone did put a smile back on your weary face.

But, I’ll have this to say my dear:

Can you blame me if I’ll say goodbye?

When I cannot fathom how will these end?

I need a moment to recover

Just enough time to heal

I will still be around

A speck of dust in your little world

I will be more like a shadow

Silently longing
But never expecting

For something that I cannot have…

Leave a Reply

